Tuesday, July 22, 2008

The New New Alphabet

The New New Alphabet is typeface devised by Ryan Gander and produced by graphic designer Rasmus Spanggaard Troelsen. The typeface is an addition to famed Dutch designer Wim Crouwel’s typeface New Alphabet Three (1967), based on a dot-matrix system and intended to be easily read by computers:

Perhaps its best known usage is in this Joy Division album cover.

The New New Alphabet was made with the intension of being printed over Crouwel’s original version, with the purpose of making it more legible, but in turn less stylised.

It's available (for mac) to download from the following link:


Crouwel on his "New Alphabet"